The Herald Sun website this morning reports about a Swiss skateboarder riding through the Burnley Tunnel (part of a major freeway carring 100,000 cars per day) in Melbourne.

While the Skateboarder is likely to be taken to hospital with deep grazes and other injuries, I do have my personal view on the sitution.

To be quite honest, I actually laughed when I saw the story on the net about 5 minuites ago. Being a youth, actually seeing someone who is brave enough to be riding down a major freeway is actually in my eyes to be “cool”. No, I am not making out that I support seeing stories of skateboards and the like riding down freeways in the middle of cities, but just so see someone with the nerve to do it as a one off is alright provided that there were adquete safeguards in place.
Which, in this case, there was not. The skateboarder did this in the middle of peak hour, which in Melbourne (don’t forget Melbourne is the second biggest city in Australia) carries massive amounts of cars at 100kph. Was he even wearing a helmet? Was he keeping an eye out for drivers? Was he even doing this in the emergency lane, not in the same lanes as traffic?

Theres also the legality of this. It is illegal to be riding a human powered vechile down that particular freeway. And theres reasons for this.

My view: Yes, it can for us teens be “cool” to see someone wanting to try something like this. However there are reasons why this should not be being tried, and as this person ended up, it can result in injury or potentially death.

